The beast walks away

More or less the same as the first, and really quite interesting to make the same thing again. Not something I often do; I generally don’t enjoy making duplicates. I wondered if the second version of this same design would take less time, given that I’d already done the process once before.

It didn’t. It took just as much time as the first one. I wonder why I expected that it would take less time. Familiarity with the process and the design made it a little easier, but no quicker. But then I’m not really interested in speed, as far as needle and thread are concerned.  Stitching takes as long as it takes.

This entry was posted in art, patchwork, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The beast walks away

  1. arlee says:

    i do like this little wanderer in the snow

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    I like watch your process as you move from one project to another.

  3. perhaps it is the “pre-suggestion” of the holiday but to me the beast looks more festive today…like a reindeer. the border also for some reason looks like the interior of a log cabin somewhere in the woods. perhaps the beast has come in from the cold of the cave wall and into father christmas’s workshop! ha. very fine and i especially love the detail shots. puts a lot of prospective in on the work…and cloth, stitch to me should be a slow process…thoughtful and not mechanical. thank you.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I hadn’t thought about that, Henrietta, but I think you’re right – slightly more ‘festive’ and a little more woodsy. Thank you!

  4. connie rose says:

    It’s just beautiful. The background fabrics are perfect for the critter. Happy Holidays, Karen!

  5. deedeemallon says:

    this is just spectacular! what you can achieve at this small scale is very inspiring.

  6. Lynette (NZ) says:

    Especially love that spiral stitching with the star burst effect from there. Enjoy the season 🙂

  7. tina says:

    that is really, really nice, I imagineits harder the second time around because its hard to keep it just the same, it might want to be an individual…..

    • Karen Turner says:

      All cloths are individuals. (‘Yes. We are all individuals’ – if you’re not familiar with Monty Python’s Life of Brian, this won’t be funny.)

  8. serenapotter says:

    oh he does look very festivus.

    have you seen the reindeer cam? my sister sent the link to me for the kids
    sophia looked said
    that not a reindeer, that’s a brown cow….
    wrote this back to my sister
    she said well tell her santa needs all the help he can get these days.

  9. MoF says:

    I think that this is a lady beast as she has had the sense to come in from the cold. In my mind (slightly off-beat at the best of times ) I called your first beast Arthur. I think that this is his mate and she is called Annie. No I have not been on the Xmas sherry as that is one drink I don’t care for. Have a cool Yule everyone!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Arthur and Annie, I like that – though Arthur recently wandered off to Northern Europe so Annie’s in for a rather lonely Christmas, I’m afraid. Maybe she’ll hit the sherry.

  10. Rachel says:

    I think the second time you really only save the design thinking time, and if your embellishment is different, you won’t even save much of that. But as you say, it takes as long as it takes, and if you are happy with the result (you are, aren’t you?), who cares how long that is?

  11. sally jo says:

    I love this beast as well, border is also wonderful. Happy boxing day Karen.

  12. Very festive. I love the spirals in the border too.

Comments are closed.