Crone skeleton

This is clearly going to be the year of big things. My second large ongoing adventure this year will involve making a start on the crone cloth. Late last year I spent about three weeks drawing an elaborate plan for this cloth that involved some very fiddly measuring and rearranging of blocks that were all different sizes. I scrapped the plan last week because I realised it was far too figurative and too literal. I realised that what I actually wanted was just the bare bones of a cloth, the skeleton of a quilt that I can add to over the coming months. Actually all I want is a background.

So what I’m doing is making a set of twenty-five 12″ blocks that can be stitched together into a 5 x 5 square arrangement. The first 12 or so are in the picture above, and won’t necessarily be going together in that order. Since this cloth will be 5’6″ (the same height as me) it will then need an additional 3″ border. I want this to be an actual quilt, with batting, and have already dyed a cotton backing for it. Once I’ve got it all pieced and tacked, I’ll be able to work on the quilting one block at a time. I’ve used some of my favourite fabrics, many of which I’ve been saving for just this occasion.

I’m particularly pleased with this arrangement: one of Arlee‘s specials, and a little ‘crazy paving’ quilted sample I made last year fits into the square space perfectly.

This entry was posted in In progress, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Crone skeleton

  1. blandina says:

    I am truly in love with this idea, I might follow your steps and start a Chrone Cloth my self.
    I like the idea of working with squares that I can take with me when I visit, travel, etc.
    I like the idea of slow stitching letting inspiration flow through my fingers.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I really like the idea of you starting a crone cloth as well, blandina. I’m looking forward to investigating the meaning of crone through this cloth. Once I have this blank canvas pieced together I think it might be quite an adventure.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    You have an interesting journey ahead and I’m looking forward following it.

  3. The moons are magical. This has the feel of a journal piece and really looking forward to seeing where you go with it. Or where it takes you…

  4. Rachel says:

    It’s clearly going to be a big year – it will be interesting to see this develop..

  5. grace Forrest~Maestas says:

    this is really interesting to me. i’ll watch closely. i have a similar large cloth underway in
    Jude’s Diaries…it’s been 6 months so far. similar in that many loved fragments of cloth,
    many loved images. all in one place. tying them together is a challenge.
    i really love all these pieces and how you view them as a Ground.

    • Karen Turner says:

      A ground… that’s a really interesting way of putting it. It wasn’t a conscious thought but now you say the word I realise that’s exactly what I meant. I’m loving putting this together, all those favourite fabrics. I’ve been saving some of them for years, knowing that one day I would make something like this. I’m so glad you’ll be here too šŸ™‚

  6. Janice says:

    Just been back and read your original post on this Karen. And I love it! I love what it stands for, and I look forward to seeing it progress.

  7. judy martin says:

    Like Janice, I too went back to your original post to see what you are planning, and the idea is beautiful. Having a large cloth waiting for you when you are busy with that ‘paid employment’ thing I read about in one of your posts….will be a comfort.

    All the moons and circles in your skeleton cloth…a beautiful idea. Good luck with it. Shall watch the progress on this one.

Comments are closed.