The colour of hope

While I’m preparing fabrics for my own patchwork quilt, I know that thousands of other people across the world are also working away on quilts of their own. Some of these will be given as gifts, some will be undertaken as charitable projects. A global community of quilters, working separately and together to bring about comfort and improvement.

Recently I was given the opportunity to join such a community. Deborah contacted me to request a quilt block for a charity project that she is organising. You can read about the full details on her blog here. The cause is a sensitive and emotive one, and one that is sometimes difficult to face and to comprehend. It is hoped that the resulting quilt will raise funds for this charity.

The first draft of my block is under way, and it will be heading off to Deborah in the next few days. If you’d like to join her in the project, you need to make an 8″ quilt block – any style, any colour. Just a quilt top, no batting or backing, and 8.5″ in total (so that the finished block size is 8″, taking into account seam allowances for piecing). You might like to spread the word too, if you’re interested in joining in.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The colour of hope

  1. Jeannie says:

    Thanks for telling me about this. I would love to participate. Wishing you a creative weekend.

  2. Jill says:

    Thanks for the heads-up on this – have spread the word and will be participating.

  3. MoF says:

    Food for slow thought processes!

  4. connie rose says:

    I love your block and thanks for spreading the word. Have a great weekend!

  5. Thank you so much Karen for writing this and also to all you other quilting ladies. Have a good weekend, Deb x

  6. Rachel says:

    Not being a quilter, I shall wish you well on this one and wait until I’ve had a chance to develop that skill..

  7. Loralei says:

    Thanks for this post, and for your comment on my blog; I will definitely participate in this one!

Comments are closed.