A Winter Moon

I think that’s what I’m calling this quilted landscape piece. In between the lines on the landscape beneath, I’m working a little on the moon up above:

This is a circle (about 15″ or so in diameter) I pieced a few months ago, before I knew what was going to become of it. Turns out it sits quite nicely on this very dark blue hand-dyed turban cotton.

I’m using my own hand-dyed cotton threads to work some little seed stitches over the surface. I notice that on the close-ups you can see almost every piecing stitch. I’m not sure that I like to see that much detail! I don’t have a huge range of colours in ‘ordinary sewing’ threads, so I tend to use neutral greys, creams and beiges for piecing.

I have a busy weekend: the wool batting arrived yesterday so I will need to brace myself for a day crawling about on the floor stretching, measuring, pinning and tacking quilt layers. Not my favourite of quilting jobs; I always find pinning and basting a large quilt very tiring. I also usually end up pinning it to the carpet. Good job I have some nice simple relaxing patchwork to piece in the evenings.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, patchwork, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Winter Moon

  1. Maggi says:

    I do like the richness of the blue, it sets off the moon’s colours beautifully. Lovely thread for the seed stitching.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Maggi. It looks a bit dull in the photo – slightly more ‘glowing’ in real life. So difficult to get the play of light over textiles in a photograph.

  2. chris gray says:

    I really like the colours you are using lately!…..all working together beautifully…

    Maybe it’s time to invest in a large piece of damp-proof membrane to put on top of the carpet…pins won’t stick to it….

    • Karen Turner says:

      A damp proof membrane… I have no idea what that is, and would never have thought of it in a million years! Thanks for the idea 🙂

  3. Janice says:

    I too love all the colours you’re using. The stitching on the moon is beautiful, as are all the landscape layers in the post below. Good luck with the pinning!

  4. Wow! Another beauty x

  5. joe says:

    I love that your piecing stitches show. I enjoy using semi-contrasting threads for piecing to add a subtle new element to the cloth. . . It breaks the rules of “traditional” quilting but adds so much character.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Joe. I know a few people who use contrasting thread for piecing, and I do do it myself occasionally. I agree it can be very effective.

  6. Sally jo says:

    The colors are so rich, like the berry smoothie I had earlier today. I love your stitches too.

  7. Jacky says:

    The colours are beautiful and I love those little seed stitches (or whatever the correct name is???). I’ve been doing a little paper piecing myself lately…its quite addictive.

    Jacky xox

  8. Rachel says:

    Floors make useful work surfaces, sometimes, but all the scrambling around can be a little wearing, I agree.

    The seed stitches make a great textural effect on the the Winter Moon!

  9. Katie says:

    This is wonderful! I can’t wait to see it finished.

    Thank you for the lovely comment on my paintings as well.

  10. deb says:

    I love the look of seed stitches, and I love doing seed stitches! I was taught a method of basting a big quilt on a table. Much easier. I find it really difficult getting up and down off the floor these days!! Hurts the knees!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Deb, I might try something like that. I am really dreading trying to deal with it on the floor. My knees aren’t what they used to be either!

  11. blandina says:

    This piece is so attrcactive, I keep watching and watching, the perfect combination of pattern, colours and stitches. And what a beautiful effect with the dark blue cotton.

  12. karen says:

    I love to see the piecing stitches, they are an illustration of the time and skill in each piece. The colour scheme is also very, very, calming and beautiful.

  13. I love the pixelated moon and the scatter of seeding stitches is texturally wonderful – something I really appreciate now I actually own one of your quilts!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Of course! You must be Alex – thanks so much for your visits. And glad to hear you’re happy with the quilt 🙂

      • Oh yes, I’m over the moon with it! It’s hanging in pride of place on the wall at the head of our stairs, so as you walk up the steps it’s as if you’re approaching the gateway in the stones. Magical. 😮

Comments are closed.