Moon in Winter

Just about got this finished in time for the end of winter, hurtling as we are towards Imbolc tomorrow and the start of spring. Although it’s still cold, there are signs that the earth is waking up from her winter sleep, and I’m thinking of this cloth as marking the transition between winter and spring. From darkness to light, from sleep to waking, from stasis to growth. A good cloth to start the year, I guess.

I wrestled for some time with the sky. I didn’t want to quilt lines because that would have taken something away from the moon and the way the circle sits on the cloth. In the end I went for tiny stitches that could stand for stars.

I also didn’t want a border or binding on this cloth. I wanted the edge of the picture plane to be simply its own edge, so I turned the front over onto the backing to make a kind of reverse binding.

Initially I added more cotton scrim to the foreground, but it turned out to be unnecessary and distracting, bringing the viewer’s eye too far down the picture. It turned out that the foreground fabric was beautiful and simple enough to just be itself.

Enjoy the last day of winter.

This entry was posted in art, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Moon in Winter

  1. Sue says:

    Beautiful 🙂

  2. Maggi says:

    A lovely piece and a good choice of quilting for the sky.

  3. Absolutely gorgeous! This has really come together as a superb piece; a fabulous mix of colours – just right for the season. I love the idea of having pieces which reflect the seasonal cycle, and I suppose working in fairly slow methods, gives us time to plan for the next one.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thank you…
      …though I should confess that this wasn’t consciously planned as a reflection of the seasons; I just happened to realise that’s what it turned out to be in the end. I think cloth and stitch do a great job of showing us what’s buried in our psyche, and sometimes it takes the finished cloth to reflect that which we didn’t know we were trying to say: ‘oh, so that’s what I was doing’. It feels like magic every time, and so much better than therapy 🙂

  4. Bea says:

    This is so beautiful!

  5. Jeannie says:

    Karen, this is beautiful. You really captured a beautiful landscape.

  6. Amanda says:

    Very lovely!

  7. Gorgeous work.So soothing to look at.Will you be keeping it or selling? Love the stars xxlynda

  8. Absolutely breathtakingly beautiful x

  9. Rachel says:

    Yes, looking at the first picture, it really doesn’t need anything else at the bottom.. Well done!

  10. jude says:

    beautiful Karen…

  11. annie! says:

    I love it Karen.

  12. Loralei says:

    Phenomenal work; I love the sense of serenity that this piece implies. The blending of colours, the stitched details- all of it brought together to create such a beautiful piece of art!

  13. karen says:

    the tiny little stitches in the sky are perfect….

  14. Karen, This is awesome! Really beautiful! Everything you did was right on – perfect!

  15. Karen Turner says:

    Many thanks for all the kind words; much appreciated.

  16. serenapotter says:

    winter in a nutshell
    or in this case a mini quilt

  17. Sweetpea says:

    BEEEEUUUUUTEEEEEEUS!!

  18. Lovely, serene, balanced piece of art.

  19. Janice says:

    Every part of it is beautiful, Karen. I love the little quilted stars. They are just perfect.

  20. Tina says:

    This is absolute magic-I am taken away to another land in dreams

Comments are closed.