Growth

Work continues, sporadically, on tacking the layers of Metamorphosis. I overestimated the size of the wool batting and ended up with about 8″ spare all round the edges of the 60″ pieced top. Working on the tacking, I’m noticing that bits of batting are rubbing off from the edges, and travelling to the most unexpected corners of the house. My husband is normally a very patient and understanding man, but when he finds a shred of wool batting in his dinner – well, even I know things have probably gone a little too far. To his credit, he didn’t actually say anything. Just held it up between thumb and forefinger and looked at me in accusatory silence.

So now I know I need to add a border to cover up the raw batting. Initially this cloth was going to be the same height as me, which would have meant adding a 3″ border to each side. But I figure that if I have at least 8-10″ spare batting and backing, then it makes sense for the border to be as wide as the spare space. The alternative is to cut four 4″ strips of batting off each side to make it smaller, but that just seems wrong and pointless. Leaving it as it is means that the cloth will turn out to be bigger than me. And that’s OK. That makes more sense. We grow to fill the available space.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, quilts, textile art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Growth

  1. Janice says:

    In fairness, I have heard that wool batting is very nutritious! And after all, quilts are chicken soup for the soul, are they not…?
    Yes, I like very much the idea of allowing for growth. 🙂

  2. Rachel says:

    It makes altogether more sense to grow into the space available – and now you have provided us with a benchmark for when the textiles are taking over. As long as there’s no fabric in the dinner, there is no cause for complaint!

  3. Ger says:

    A cloth, bigger than life – that´s good… – thanks for so persistently liking my silk scraps (haven´t been able to get that kind of silk for a while, but hope I can lay hands on some again…) – and thanks for the award – frankly, I´m not too keen for that kind of thing – but, coming from you, I much appreciate it nevertheless…

    • Karen Turner says:

      Sorry, Heike. I’m not a huge fan myself, but I have a lot of respect for Penny who was kind enough to give it to me. Not everyone’s kind of thang, I know.

  4. Amanda says:

    BUT… those bits you could cut off may be it’s babies waiting to hatch into wadding of new quiltlets!! 😉

    • Karen Turner says:

      Oh! I never thought of that…

      • serenapotter says:

        yes or batting for puffing up quilting later..

        i always have extra because i like a little larger batt just in case, but like you have come to think….well maybe i should make it grow…

        listen to your muse 😉

  5. I find cutting/trmming is always worrying – like trying to saw bits off a chair leg to stop it wobbling…!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Reminds me of a cartoon – where you saw smaller and smaller bits off each leg until you end up with just a chair and no legs at all. Poor quilt!

  6. Karen, I have the same problem with cat hair…seems to be in everything, at some point you just give up and enjoy the energy of the findlings. I do like the suggestion of amanda’s – quiltlets. cheers.

  7. Bea says:

    Extra inches to tuck under your toes on cold nights sounds good.

  8. karen says:

    I laughed about your husband…mine usually does that too…but when he sits on a needle!

Comments are closed.