New order

It was such a simple idea, really, but I must thank Rachel for her scraps-sorting suggestion: (1) tiny scraps, (2) large scraps and (3) everything else. It works very well, thank you!

So you can see that with this system, I can almost see the bottom of the ‘tiny scraps’ section. This is because I rounded up and took out all the tiny strips and sorted them into groups of similar widths. I know, there are better things to do with one’s time, but I’m still ailing a bit from all the dental traumas last week and still can’t apply myself to anything too strenuous.

So we have lots of little strips of fabric:

And I’m thinking that I might just start stitching them together, for no other reason than because I can.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New order

  1. Rachel says:

    I’m glad to have helped! And I like the idea of sewing bits together “just because I can”!

  2. Anneliese says:

    Good idea – oh, sorting is such a calming occupation and helpful afterwards..

  3. deanna7trees says:

    sorting…i like doing that because there are so many wonderful surprises found.

  4. Jan Marriott says:

    great idea…who knows where it may lead

  5. serenapotter says:

    THIS is my favorite way of making things. love it!

  6. Sweetpea says:

    Oh yes, do stitch away!

  7. Janice says:

    Congratulations to you and Rachel! Although I’m thinking now you don’t have quite as much Virgo in you as I first suspected. I would do Tiny Scraps; Large Scraps by colour; Everything else by colour. I saw on another blog the other day a quilt incorporating truly tiny scraps that I would just throw away but this person cannot bear to. So if you also keep them, I would have them all jumbled together, and then organise the Tiny Scraps (which in contect would not be so tiny after all) also by colour.
    This is why I am not a librarian. Nobody would have the time/ patience/ interest/ lifespan to understand my system.
    I hope your tooth issue is well and truly sorted. x

    • Karen Turner says:

      Oh, well, I should perhaps clarify – large scraps are colour-sorted, as is everything-else. Tiny scraps currently aren’t sorted, although I’m thinking of sorting them into value rather than colour. Still working my way through small strips at the moment, as well as sorting more glorious fabrics that arrived today, a very generous gift from a good friend.
      The tooth issue is a long and very unpleasant story, and getting better, thank you – until next visit to the dentist in 2 weeks, which could turn out to be a root canal, so keep everything crossed for something nice and simple!

  8. Flaming Nora says:

    Oh nothing like a good sort out. I love a bit of a reorganisation me!
    Happy stitching.

Comments are closed.