more blocks

More scraps blocks complete; I don’t know how many I have now, but still nowhere near enough. There are another 20 or so prepared for this week’s evenings. It’s very satisfying to complete each part of this jigsaw.

I’m calling this one the Arlee block – made with some of her special fabrics:

And a few of the others:

All 8″ square. I keep forgetting that I still have to piece them all together at the end of all this.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to more blocks

  1. karen says:

    I am so excited by these!!! I want to do some!! You have inspired me…….

  2. arlee says:

    oh my goodness, thank you Karen—you have reminded me of my trad grandmother’s hex piece i wanted to make πŸ™‚

  3. Susan C says:

    I love the groupings by color. Beautiful together and also allowing each little scrap to shine. I can’t wait to see how you put them all together.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Actually I’m a bit worried about that – I have no idea how to put these together yet – randomly, by colour, by value… no idea. I also have no idea about how I’m going to quilt it. One step at a time though!

  4. Loralei says:

    The mystery quilt evolves… I am really enjoying the playfulness of this adventure!!

  5. Gill says:

    What fun!

  6. MoF says:

    Life is a journey, not a destination! Love the colours and the inspiration for recycling the tiniest of scraps! Bonne chance a vous!

  7. deanna7trees says:

    so tempting…but i’m into too much already. love seeing these.

  8. helensalo says:

    Always enjoy admiring your wonderful sense of color and design.It will be just terrific when it is all together.

  9. Sweetpea says:

    I can see how one could acquire a great calmness from stitching all of these…enough variation to delight the mind and at the same time, enough repetition to put it to rest.

    I’ve this MAD desire to send you some rich, deep ***purple*** scraps from my stash but I’m showing great, hard-fought restraint…

    • Karen Turner says:

      You’re so right, C – enough variety in the colour and pattern, enough repetition in the stitching. You describe it perfectly. I hadn’t consciously realised that.
      I never refuse fabrics πŸ™‚
      Actually I did wildly underestimate the quantity I would need for this quilt top and found myself – incredibly – running a little low, until Serena came to my rescue with a mountain of delicious and perfect fabrics.

  10. Penny Berens says:

    Love this beautiful work Karen. You are reminding me of my mother who used to paper piece on long car trips.

  11. serenapotter says:

    these are beautiful karen! i love them. i like that there’s little sisters to stuff i’ve made in there too.

  12. karen says:

    you have pin envy….I have patchwork envy. Guess we’re quits!

  13. Rachel says:

    You’re making great progress with these blocks!

  14. Fabulous – there is so much to see, your eyes linger so much longer over these treasures!

Comments are closed.