Beginning

I’ve been collecting all the tiny fragments of fabric together: all the bits that are just too small for anything else. Mostly these are less than an inch wide/long.

I sorted them into colour groups and then roughly into values, and fused them to squares of very soft lightweight iron-on stabiliser.

The stabiliser is almost weightless and doesn’t seem to be affecting the quality or hand of the fabrics. It’s just a way of keeping them all in place ready for stitching.

When I started arranging scraps on these foundations I didn’t know what I was going to do with the blocks. It started off simply as a way of keeping the tiny scraps together and keeping them tidy.

Once I had a few blocks finished I had quite a few ideas about how they could be useful.

Which proves, if proof were needed, that the best way to begin is to begin.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Beginning

  1. lyn lewis says:

    great backgrounds if nothing else! Just proves it………..throw nowt out!!! lol

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    coming along nicely…look forward to seeing where this goes.

  3. Linda D. says:

    Love these blocks, intrigued to see what you do with them.

  4. bluecloth says:

    I love how you stick with it. Sticktoitiveness! Fun fabrics.

  5. blandina says:

    Great idea, the blocks look very interesting. How exciting to start a journey into unexplored land!

  6. Rachel says:

    Absolutely. Especially when you don’t know where to start – and then somehow one thing leads to another…

  7. Ger says:

    Beginnings are the best part of it anyways… – I like how you cherish the small scraps…

Comments are closed.