65 blocks

The pile is growing.

Many of these are made with lovely gifts from Serena.

I’m calling this one the Serena block, since it features the block (the very, actual one!) made for her piecing tutorial here:

And I really like this one:


And these:
65 blocks finished. 35 to go!

The long evenings just fly by.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork, quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 65 blocks

  1. MoF says:

    I love the juxtaposition of the red squares and turquoise blue ones. So effective and has given me some ideas for leftover bits of card, building patchwork as a background paper.

    • Karen Turner says:

      That sounds like a great idea. Are you stitching the paper scraps together…? You could… Red and turquoise is one of my favourites too.

  2. Loralei says:

    I adore the couple on the bike, but can’t get enough of the green in the top left of the last photo! I have spent too much time away from fabric, whilst getting ready for my daughter’s birthday party. All will be back to normal next week, and I will spend some time with my stash… Loving your progress so far :-))

  3. blandina says:

    You are working so hard and so quickly, you are amzing.

    • Karen Turner says:

      not amazing : -)
      These almost make themselves. It always surprises me how much you can do without really trying. I can usually piece one or two blocks per evening at a fairly leisurely pace.

  4. connie rose says:

    These are gorgeous, Karen. And what fun, eh? Have a great weekend!

  5. Flaming Nora says:

    Sort of wish I hadn’t stopped by now. Not sure I will ever be able to live with out that tandem fabric. It may be a tiny scrap, but I’m in love!

  6. Does each block have the same combination of patches? I wish I could work freely enough to do something like this.

    • Karen Turner says:

      No, each block is different. I prepare a variety of sizes in each colour – 1″ x 1″, 1″ x 2″, 2″ x 2″, 3″ x 2″ etc – and then fit them together in groups of similar colour/value. It’s very easy, like doing a jigsaw. You just have to be careful that you have the right dimensions – 8″ x 8″ – along the outside edges. As long as they all end up 8″ square it doesn’t really matter how each block is constructed.
      Try it πŸ™‚

  7. Els says:

    Wow Karen, great !!!
    (well, that’s me : 65 , 35 to go …. πŸ˜‰ !)

  8. Sweetpea says:

    That is some pile, K ~ 65? ~ whew. So obvious that you are enjoying the flight time!

  9. karen says:

    more patchwork envy going on in Lancashire!!

  10. Rachel says:

    A wonderful kaleidoscope of colours – and like others, I’m drawn to the couple on the tandem..

  11. deborah mcclenahan says:

    These are fab!

  12. Janice says:

    Well done Karen. They’re beautiful, and you’ve achieved so many in a short space of time. Thanks also for the link to Serena’s tutorial, which I will now go and peruse in more detail.

  13. I love that there’s so much to look at. A feast for the eye.

  14. serenapotter says:

    thank you so much karen. you’re really churning the blocks out. i’m impressed and inspired.

Comments are closed.