Breaking the rules

It wasn’t all reading, although it was very pleasant to just have some thinking time.

It seems this is the year for breaking the rules. First the sewing machine and now this:

I broke my own rule and bought new fabric. I became, for a brief, heady few minutes, a consumer.

It’s been a long time since I bought new fabric. I’m on record in several places as saying (somewhat smugly, I fear), ‘oh, I don’t buy new fabrics any more, I dye and recycle old ones’.

Hey ho.

So while subscriber numbers plummet like disappointed lemmings, here are some of my favourites:

Michael Miller Dress Forms

My mum and I really like this one:

And these:

What makes it even more exciting is that I have no immediate plans for these. But it’s lovely to just sit and look at them.

This entry was posted in Sewing tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Breaking the rules

  1. Rachel says:

    Enjoy looking at them – there is more than one way to enjoy a piece of fabric!

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    You are very naughty…how much have you bought???.
    they look alluring though…

  3. the last image is very appealing…that is why the word stash was invented. my guilty pleasure is embroidery thread…

  4. yes but the dress form and pattern oens are adorable

  5. serenapotter says:

    ahhh i love them all!

    i don’t think there’s anything wrong with buying new fabric, I just hate that so many of the quilters who are vocal today are very very driven to use their quilts as a vehicle to promote fabric lines. i’m even ok with people sometimes making a quilt from a fabric line, but there’s a sickening feeling in my stomach when i see material used as a way to exclude some, create cliques, and use quilting as some sort of avenue for attention for no real technique or skill.

    Here’s some great big honking squares in so and so line….here’s another, and another….ohhhh ahhh. it’s not that i think these women are less talented, it’s that i feel that there’s a brainwash element to forgetting that there’s quite a bit of art in the technique of creation.
    but that being said if it gets new people to love quilts i’m a fan. i just hope they realize that their heirlooms weren’t churned out in a day.

    i call it decor vs. quilting.

    we’re all some form of consumer, at least be a thoughtful and happy one right ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Karen Turner says:

      I don’t know anything really about fabric lines, I just see something and like it. I discovered during my shopping bonanza that I like quite a lot of Michael Miller and Moda designs – look at me, here I am name-dropping with the best of ’em – I didn’t even know who Michael Miller was until a few weeks ago. I had to laugh at ‘great big honking squares’.

      • serenapotter says:

        i like those too ms. name dropper ๐Ÿ˜‰ it’s all because of that pill poppin crazy mama print isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜‰ no no i’m wrong. you ordered those first didn’t you?

        maybe i’m a nasty person who needs to crawl back in my hole, but it’s really hard, the few friends i’ve gotten to pay attention to quilting here are really all about just buying fabric. i just hope that the younger generations pick up quilting and realize there is a lot of real skill and it’s worth holding onto.

    • oksewglad says:

      Well said, serenapotter. Like you I see many quilts designed to do it up fast and see how many quilts can be churned out in record time. And patterns done with precuts so one doesn’t make a matching mistake! More quilts, more fabric bought.
      I like to buy from certain fabric lines because of the appealing design and quality of the fabrics offered and the challenge is to bring it all together. That’s why I love quilting.

      • Karen Turner says:

        Well said, both of you. I didn’t know you could get patterns with pre-cut fabrics. Kind of paint-by-numbers for stitchers. I was astonished by the range of fabrics out there. It’s the first time I’ve really looked for many years

  6. Amanda says:

    I certainly won’t be leaving if you go and be naughty now and then. Lol. But I did think you gone to Reading and not doing some reading. Oops.

  7. Flaming Nora says:

    Ok so you need to tell me where you got the last fabric from and what its called. Not sure I can live with out it! Can totally see why you bought it, well all of them really.

  8. helensalo says:

    One has to buy fabric every now and then so you can leave a quilt piece from this era (year) as one looks at old quilts and says “oh that’s from the forties, the thirties, etc.” Your grandchildren or their children can say “oh that’s from 2012” and then, of course, who could resist your new finds, esp. love the dress forms ( I collect them) and the last sewing patterns,etc….a have to have one for sure.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Well, no grandchildren or children – but I guess my niece will be one day buried under her own weight in quilts… But I think you’re right, it can be good to buy a certain amount now and again.

  9. Robyn Ayaz says:

    Hi Karen, if I had a dollar for every time I said (equally smugly I fear) that I was not going to buy any more new fabric I would be able to fund a trip to the retreat of my choice. Ah well, such is life, the fact is we all love fabric of just about every kind and it can be very hard to resist all those luscious goodies. Enjoy them, stroke them a bit but do use them!

  10. dianajhale says:

    Great fabrics – i would have been tempted too!

  11. vallorrie says:

    Love those fabrics….I began with store bought fabrics, tons of them. I never would have quilted if it hadn’t been for all the delicious choices. I learned technique and perfection. Dare I say this vice has led me to an even more insidious one; collecting odd scraps of linen, silk, cotton, velvet and threads and my machine hasn’t seen the light of day for the new love of hand stitching. I’m even in an indigo dye workshop……and imperfection is perfect. I look at my commercial fabric with disdain and should wag my finger at myself because there’s value in all of it, and room for all…… over-dyed and wrong side out works too…it all brings more awareness, more value, more pleasure more ideas and talent to fiber “arts”.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, I first began many years ago with commercial fabrics, because that was all I knew. Then – like you – I moved over exclusively to hand-dyed and reclaimed fabrics, and am now just climbing over that particular fence to the place where almost all fabric is good. My attitude now is that there’s room for all sorts – as you say, value in all of it. I do overdye commercial fabrics on occasion, and I also use them ‘wrong’ side up – though I prefer to think that all fabrics have two sides rather than one right one and one wrong one. Thanks for stopping by and sharing these thoughts.

  12. blandina says:

    The poppies are spectacular. You did well, sometimes we need a little self indulgence….

  13. Janice says:

    I love the poppies too. I note a retro dressmaker theme to the others. I have no strong political objections to buying fabric! Actually, I do buy almost all of the fabric I use, but as has been said, the skill is in buying stuff you like and then matching it to other stuff you like. I would like to try dying using natural ingredients from the garden but haven’t got around to that yet. It’s the frantic consumerism I can’t get my head around – like ‘shopping’ as a hobby, or ‘Quick Quilts to Make in a Weekend’, or having totally new Christmas decorations each year. (Mine are treasured, special, often handmade and each has a story to tell.) But then – chacun ร  son goรปt. I will not pay heed to the fabric police of either persuasion; I don’t expect my views on Christmas decorations to influence anyone else’s seasonal practices; and you will never mass-produce copycat quilts, Karen, no matter how much new fabric is included in them! Go on – have a splurge! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Karen Turner says:

      You made me smile, Janice; thank you for that. I don’t get the ‘quick quilts in a weekend’ thing either. No danger of me ever making anything in a weekend, I think! I’m totally with you on the Christmas thing too. Some of our decorations are older than me. (And wearing better!)

  14. tina says:

    ha ha its a sneaky addiction isnt it, and have you seen those textured japanese fabrics yet? at the end of the day — your sewing and your fabric should make you happy lifes short- enjoy yourself love tina

    • Karen Turner says:

      What excellent advice – I shall remember that! No, I haven’t seen textured Japanese fabrics, but might just look for them… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Karen Ruane says:

    oh yes….I also have metres of fabric that is just for ”looking at” and for some reason your blog will only allow me to comment through facebook?????

Comments are closed.