Bags of fun

Lots of pictures today.

I made some fabric treasure packs:

I wondered how much mileage you could get out of one pack, so, just out of interest, I spent an enjoyable few days getting to know the ‘Moody Blues’ pack. Even I was surprised when I managed to make three cloths from just one bag of fabric scraps. Admittedly, there wasn’t much left over:

All I added in each case was backing fabric, thread and yarn. So, cloth number one – ‘Moodily Crazy’:

Crazy sampler, about 11.5″ square. You can see that some of the fabrics are layered together, which changes their texture and appearance – organza over blue gingham and metallic lace over silk:

Number 2, ‘Sampling the Blues’:

Stitched area about 11″ square; layered and collaged fabrics on cream linen/cotton backing cloth. If anyone needs a reminder, I did a basic outline of my layered patchwork technique a couple of years ago here.

This pack had some dark blue dress net in it, which I cut into small squares and layered in piles of three to form the central nine-patch. Then I added a tiny square of cotton velvet, just held down in the centre with a few french knots.

And cloth number 3, ‘Blue Mood’:

Again, about 11″ square; layered fabrics, some with raw edges and some with turned edges. Slight mishap during the making of this one. A salutary note to self: do not touch synthetic organza with a hot iron!

Initially this fabric was entirely covered by the organza to knock back the brightness of the brown flannel, but I forgot it was there and ironed it, so it partially melted away to reveal the fabric underneath. I won’t tell you what it did to the iron. Take my advice and use a pressing cloth! Actually I quite like the effect, in the end, proving that nothing is really the disaster it first seems.

This piece is very simply and quietly stitched.

I promise you, all three from one bag!

So the shop is now almost as full as it can be, and it feels good to be back with Big Cartel.

I should say ‘have a moody Monday’, but the sun is shining here.

🙂

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Bags of fun

  1. Sue says:

    I love number 1 and 2, I’m quite tempted by the green bag, as if I don’t have enough fabric!!!!! Any ideas on how to clean an iron? I tend to buy cheap and try and use the old ones for ‘dirty work’, as I haven’t found a solution to the problem ever

  2. blandina says:

    Wow, this is beautiful, who would think that you got these wonders out of scraps? But it is not thanks to the scraps, it is thanks to your creative and artistic mind. Fabulous.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, blandina – but really, anyone can do this. It’s just a matter of laying some scraps together on a foundation cloth or background and stitching them down. The only person it has to please is you.

  3. Your shop looks great – I’ve just been having a little lurk over there. I was moved by the way you describe your art cloths. Much of what you say about working by hand and then living with the tactile piece, resonates with me. You’ve given me much to think about. Thank you.

  4. connie rose says:

    Love what you’ve done with the blue scraps ~ really lovely stitched pieces! And your shop looks great. Will be interested to hear how things go for you on Big Cartel.

  5. Loralei says:

    What great timing for this post; I am off work for the week, and had already decided to teach my daughter how to crazy quilt. We are having a road trip this week, and it will be a great take along!!

  6. annie! says:

    Love your little samples! And, I love melting organza…on purpose…or not!

  7. Flaming Nora says:

    Fab idea. I love what you have done with it all.

  8. Jan Marriott says:

    well done…..Big Cartel is looking good.

  9. One of my friends who does a lot of playing with fabrics says there is an American product for cleaning sticky irons.

  10. lyn lewis says:

    Cleaning an iron………..am sure its sumthing really daft like using a dryer sheet or colour catcher, that is sposed to be the way to do it according to Laura Wassilowski at Artfabrik. One or the other.
    The fabric bundles look really great!
    I must not buy any more fabric…
    I must not buy any more fabric…
    I must not buy any more fabric… lol sorry!

    • Karen Turner says:

      There’s always room for a bit more fabric, I find : -)
      Baby wipes are pretty good for cleaning various non-baby related messes.

  11. Dot says:

    I am looking forward to using my scrap packs. You have a lovely selection in your shop.

  12. Janice says:

    Your fabric packs look great and your moody blues are beautiful! I’ve occasionally burnt stuff onto the iron and find that if it melts on, it will also ‘melt off’ if you see what I mean…? I put the iron on hot and scrape repeatedly over an old tea towel laid on the edge of the ironing board. It seems to be kinder to the iron than something scratchy, but it does take longer to get all the stuff off.

  13. Lakeland: http://www.lakeland.co.uk/7260/Hot-Iron-Cleaner
    No, I don’t work for them but am on my second tube of this stuff! It really works.

  14. tina says:

    hi karen ,those are beautiful, lovely moody blue squares and those packs! oooh tempting……..

  15. Lynette (NZ) says:

    Love your moody blocks 🙂

Comments are closed.