Using it up

I’ve been using up – almost – the last of my wool felt scraps on this square piece of patchwork:

The piece measures about 21″ square altogether; felt squares are either 3″ or 1.5″, stitched down to linen foundation.

Later in the week I’ll turn it into something useful.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, patchwork, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Using it up

  1. Flaming Nora says:

    ummm! Me like.

  2. Penny Berens says:

    A Springtime mosaic.

  3. MoF says:

    Love the seed stitching; it gives such texture and interest.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thank you 🙂 It takes about ten times longer than you might expect, but effective, yes. Good opportunity to use up some of those thicker threads too.

  4. the colours are just incredible…the combinations and texture. ah, to be a little square in your stash.

  5. connie rose says:

    How lovely! I like using things up — also giving things away to make room for making new stuff!

  6. Lovely to see such rich colours – they rather remind me of some of the colours in David Hockney’s current exhibition!

  7. Loralei says:

    Great colours – I absolutely adore seed stitching, and love how you have incorporated it here!

  8. contemporaryembroidery says:

    this is sumptuous Karen…jewel colours! It looks so soft too.

  9. annie! says:

    Oh gosh…it’s already useful. Just looking at it brightened my day! 🙂

  10. Lovely intensity of colour and matte texture.

  11. ooh, I missed this, I love the colours, its looks like elmer the elephant from the childrens books

  12. deedeemallon says:

    love this!~ though I’ll admit to liking it better as a flat piece. The colors and stitching are just beautiful.

Comments are closed.