Quilting as you go

A small pile of completed quilted blocks has appeared.

These are the eight-inch patchwork blocks that I started piecing in January, now part of a quilt-as-you-go adventure. I’m using my favourite Hobbs wool batting, and am making the back of each block a square of fabric that roughly coordinates with the pieced top.

Four completed blocks:

And the backs:

Obviously these are just laid out as examples, they won’t be actually pieced together in this order. I’m aiming for (probably) light-dark-light-dark in the final joining.

And one in progress:

As a quilting process, I really like it. I’m planning at least another two quilts that could use this method, though as usual my fingers can’t keep up with the ideas. I need about another ten pairs of hands. And another forty or so hours in every day.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork, quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Quilting as you go

  1. Sue says:

    It is looking exciting, I too would love another 40hours in the day and 10 pairs of hands….and less ideas!

  2. Chris Gray says:

    Yup! Another 40 hours AT LEAST!!!
    Lovely patchwork panels. I like the colours you’ve chosen. Enjoy the process…….

  3. Chloe says:

    Karen, how do you piece the quilted squares together? I’d like to use up scrap pieces of batting this way but I can’t work out quite how to join them up.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Keep watching! I’m not going to start joining the blocks together until they’re all quilted, which could take another month or so. Basically I’ll put the blocks right sides together to oversew the top seams, then will flip the blocks over to join the batting, then will slip stitch the backs shut. It might be clearer when you see it done. In the meantime you could try Google or YouTube for demonstrations of quilt-as-you-go. Thanks for asking : -)

      • Janice says:

        Haha! Love this reply, Karen. ‘Could take another month or so’! I am envisaging the quilt I’ve started will take two years!!!!

        The quilted squares are beautiful, by the way. I know of the quilt as you go method, but like Chloe, I’m interested to see how they join together – not specifically how you do it, but how a completed quilt feels (on a bed) if it’s constructed this way.

        • Karen Turner says:

          To my surprise I’ve completed 30 already (out of 99!) Just in spare moments here and there. I’m intrigued by how the finished quilt will look and feel too : -)

          • Janice says:

            I will definitely be interested to have a full report on that! e.g. Will it have the warmth of a quilt that has the batting across the entire cloth, rather than the thinner areas where the blocks join. On the other hand, I do like the thought of quilting and embellishing each block separately.
            You have already QUILTED and COMPLETED 30 of them…?!!!!

            • Karen Turner says:

              Quilted, yes. Haven’t started piecing them together yet. The quilting part doesn’t take long, just over half an hour each block, which is quite easy to fit in here and there around the rest of life. Anxious to dispel the suggestion of superwomanness : -)

              • Janice says:

                Haven’t succeeded! You will understand why when you read what I have to say next time I post one of my blocks on my blog! 🙂

  4. Mary Schaeffer says:

    Karen, I would also like to know the order in which you pieced your blocks. Did you piece all of them on the batting and backing or did you assemble some before sewing them into a sandwich?
    Any chance of a numbered diagram – maybe, maybe?!?

  5. Oh, at least another ten pairs of hands – although I’m slightly afraid of the brain fever that might ensue if one brain was trying to direct all that activity!

  6. Pingback: Sawtooth Star Quilt | doll envy

  7. I really like this idea. I tried it on a smaller scale, but mine didn’t turn out as nice as yours. Thanks for including a link to my blog about ticker tape blocks.

  8. Reblogged this on Country By Design's Blog and commented:
    Here is a wonderful way to use all those scraps of fabric that we quilters can’t seem to throw away!

  9. tina says:

    I currently feel like I need another 150 years to achieve all my plans…thanks for your positive thoughts…tina

  10. bluecloth says:

    these are looking so wonderful, a modern scrap quilt.

  11. Anneliese says:

    I love your handquilting. It makes such a nice surface.

  12. I’ll vote for another 40 hours in a day too. Your little blocks just make the whole thing look so manageable and it’s really tempting me to have a play!

  13. Marie says:

    These blocks look great!! Can’t wait to see the final layout.

  14. contemporaryembroidery says:

    extra hours in the day? yes please…I love your colour chouces….so calming.

  15. contemporaryembroidery says:

    and it’s CHOICES….unless of course over on the East side you have chouses too!!

Comments are closed.