Stitching the rain

When it rains all day, as it did yesterday, there’s not much else you can do. It rained beads.

And it rained stitches.

Shouting at the sky didn’t make the slightest difference. So I sat down with some paper and cloth and an old picture frame.

And a few words, cut from an old poetry anthology.

And today the sun is shining again.

This entry was posted in art, mixed media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Stitching the rain

  1. Lynda says:

    beautiful…glad it rainned!

  2. Sue says:

    Sometimes, it’s nice to have an excuse for staying in, and you certainly made the most of it, it’s wonderful πŸ™‚
    Sue Xxx

  3. Chris Gray says:

    …still raining and blowing here…

    ….but I’m going to spend my day stitching in French…

    …so it really doesn’t matter! πŸ™‚

  4. Jill says:

    This is just lovely Karen. – I have done a lot of ‘altered text’ work in books and on paper collage etc but not thought about combining it with fabric and stitch – I think I may well be appropriating your idea , thank you :).

  5. MoF says:

    Beginning to understand altered art and love your latest effort. I found a new saying yesterday whilst whiling away yet another wet day:
    “Write your sorrows in sand; your blessings in stone.”
    I am not complaining about the rain after last summers’ drought but still raining here today. 😦

  6. Loralei says:

    It’s wonderful, Karen! Such a creative way to embrace the rain.. Which, by the by, has landed not so gently in my neck of the woods πŸ˜‰

  7. oksewglad says:

    Guess it’s raining all over! What a beautiful way to listen to the rain. My 8 yo DGD loves to walk in the rain. Makes us want to be a kid again.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I’m afraid I just want to stay inside when it’s that wet. I do like playing in the snow though. Not that I’m wishing for snow in May!

  8. fibrefrolics says:

    What a lovely way to pass a rainy day and lovely to have something so beautiful to show for it:-)

  9. Flaming Nora says:

    Beautiful Karen, I wonder what you will produce when the rain returns?

  10. serenapotter says:

    nice!

  11. fiberels says:

    What a lovely little piece Karen ! Love what you did to the frame !!!

  12. tina says:

    It didnt rain roast dinner for ten and three baskets of ironing at your house then?

  13. What a great use of a grey day!

  14. contemporaryembroidery says:

    I have a picture in my head now of you, outside shouting at the sky and all the neighbours running for cover!! This is a beautiful piece of work…

  15. if you can’t stop it, stitch it!

  16. Janice says:

    What a beautiful way to spend a rainy day! I like this very much!

  17. What a lovely result of your rainy inspiration. Or should that be… inspi-rain-tion?!!!

Comments are closed.