In print

A big thank you  to Jennifer of Sew Somerset magazine for featuring my mixed media samples book in the current issue, out today.

This is little a cloth book I made a couple of years ago, when I was still using the machine and experimenting with various mixed media techniques. The pages are about 7″ square. You can see some of the cloth pages printed in the magazine article, but I thought it might be helpful to post pictures of all the pages here to give a better overview.

back cover

inside front cover and page 1

page 2 and 3

page 4 and 5

page 6 and 7

page 8 and 9

page 10 and 11

page 12 and inside back cover

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in art, Cloth books, mixed media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to In print

  1. arlee says:

    good on ya, Blossom. like, like, like 🙂

  2. congratulations…you deserve to be acknowledge for you work…your hands are always busy making beautiful work. lovely as ever. best

  3. oksewglad says:

    This is a beautiful piece of art. Thanks for sharing.

  4. serenapotter says:

    awesome!!!

  5. connie rose says:

    Fabulous, Karen! Wish I could see the article. Sew Somerset used to be available locally but it’s not any longer. And it’s already so expensive that I won’t order them from Somerset directly because shipping adds yet another 25% to the cost! But I love the magazine. So glad you were featured, you certainly deserve the honor!

  6. Anneliese says:

    Oh, how wonderful! I am so glad to see your pages here. They are so inventive and inspirational.

  7. lyn lewis says:

    yes overseas postage prohibits my US magazine buying too……..such a shame!
    but congrats gal………….well deserved !

  8. Penny says:

    FABULOUS!!

  9. lynnholland says:

    Congratulations Karen on your feature in Sew Somerset Im sat reading it now, it looks great. I was confused at first as there is another Karen Turner but she makes porcelain and ceramic buttons as HodgePodge Arts.
    Anyone struggling to get a copy I got mine through Rainbow Silks
    Kind regards
    Lynn Holland
    http://www.doodlybird.co.uk

  10. tina says:

    gorgeous book karen, I am really absorbed in books at the moment, did you line the pages with anything to stiffen them?, really,really nice book.

  11. Blandina says:

    An absolute delight, I will try to find the magazine.

  12. I did! ;o) I love fabric books and the jewel like details of this one are a delight.

  13. Rachel says:

    A gorgeous little book – well done!

  14. helen salo says:

    Great Book! and congrats on being published in such a prestigious publication. I went and picked one up the other day. I’m glad you posted all the pages, was nice to see them all.

  15. Lynette (NZ) says:

    Very cool – lovely to see different techniques

  16. Karen Ruane says:

    massive congratulations on the feature!!!

  17. Victoria says:

    Congratulations on the wonderful feature!

  18. Janice says:

    I already congratulated you, Karen, but do so again. Well done on the article. But I’m so pleased you posted these photos here. The little book is truly lovely. Colours, composition, design, fabrics – everything. Truly. xx

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Janice – unfortunately some overlap here and there between friends, family and blog readers, so some of you will have seen it three or four times in various places. People who know me will be heartily tired of it by now 🙂

  19. Karen Turner says:

    Many thanks for the supportive comments on this. My first ‘big’ publication 🙂

  20. Blandina says:

    Dear Karen, I am still in the US, flying back today with a copy of Sew Somerset. I will read it during the flight, I anticipate the delight of going through your work.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Oh, how lovely of you to find it. Hope you enjoy reading it on your way home. I think it’s a really good issue, full of talented people and great projects. Wishing you a safe journey.

Comments are closed.