Completion

Begun on 1st January 2012; finished on 15th July 2012.

Ninety-nine 8″ blocks, hand-pieced from scraps, hand-quilted, joined and bound by hand.

Originally I was not going to use binding on this quilt. Many historic and traditional English quilts do not have binding; the front and back are simply stitched together around the edge. Binding is mostly an American innovation. However, it just didn’t look right without binding of some sort. In the end I went for a very narrow (half-inch or so) binding, just to finish the edges and to provide a boundary that unifies and frames the patchwork.

The back is almost as interesting as the front:

You can at least see the (admittedly, fairly minimal) quilting better on the back.

I estimate that this has taken somewhere over 600 hours from start to finish, which equates to about a month of my life. Given that I am likely to spend a total of around 26 years of my life asleep, I think this is a pretty good achievement.

And, of course, my next question is naturally, ‘what am I going to do now?’

Since life provides me with a seemingly endless supply of scraps, the answer is – well, another quilt. The next quilt will be a gift.

It has been an enjoyable and productive break.

This entry was posted in patchwork, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Completion

  1. Jo Blair says:

    Thats fabulous hun πŸ˜€
    x

  2. Jill says:

    This is fabulous – it looks so wonderful, it works beautifully πŸ™‚

  3. Chloe says:

    Gorgeous quilt: you must be so pleased with it! It’s been really enjoyable watching it progress from the first tiny pieces πŸ™‚

  4. arlee says:

    Oh awesome, Blossom! There’s something SO satisfying about REALLY finishing something πŸ™‚ And then starting something else that is a lot of work also πŸ™‚ !!!

  5. Connie Rose says:

    Oh my goodness, what a wonderful quilt. You did good! (Not sure why I couldn’t leave this comment as usual, had to log in with my Facebook account.)

  6. Amanda says:

    Absolutely lovely. Just don’t put an hourly rate on those hours because it’s heartbreaking to know you could ever sell it for that!

  7. You have done a incredible job Karen. Your quilt is beautiful! It must be lovely to lie under a quilt of so many colors too.

  8. That’s a lot of hand sewing. I’m in awe.

  9. contemporaryembroidery says:

    welcome back!!! and with such a beautiful creation too….

  10. Congratulations – well done indeed!

  11. kathy says:

    Simply glorious! And I’m so glad you commented on the problems of all cotton batting – as a real beginner I assumed it was just my incompetence, I feel very reassured!

    • Karen Turner says:

      thank you, Kathy. Definitely not your incompetence! I have a lot of experience with hand quilting and have never encountered anything like this.

  12. Pingback: Scraps Quilt 2 | Stitching Life

  13. Janice says:

    Welcome back, Karen. And I see you have been busy stitching in your absence! Your quilt is beautiful. I can’t get over how quickly you work.

Comments are closed.