Revisiting

On the table today, an unfinished quilted piece that I rediscovered recently while tidying. Sometimes it can be interesting to revisit something from the past, just to see the difference between then and now.

This is from several years ago and was based on a woven paper collage:

Unusually, for me, the cloth version is machine pieced. Hand quilted, of course.

Most of the fabrics are commercial prints masquerading as hand-dyes, though some are actually hand-dyed. I quite like it, and it took me a while to realise why it remains unfinished. Having spent a few hours with it today, I know exactly why I gave up.

Usually I prefer wool batting, or occasionally 20/80 poly/cotton blend. The batting in this one is 100% cotton, the first time I’ve ever tried it.Β  Quilting it is mostly like trying to quilt cardboard, but the worst thing about it is this:

Non-stop, relentless bearding. I will persevere this one time, but I will never use 100% cotton batting again. It’s quite possible that there will be more batting on the lint roller than there will be remaining inside the quilt.

This entry was posted in art, In progress, textile art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Revisiting

  1. Maggi says:

    I was surprised that a lot of the fabrics are commercial, they don’t look it. Trouble with lint rollers and bearding batting is that they have a habit of pulling even more through. Is it a big piece? Perhaps you could machine quilt it even though it goes against the grain.

    • Karen Turner says:

      It’s about a metre square or so (I’m guessing, I haven’t measured it) – I’ll try to carry on by hand initially. If all else fails I might call in the machine. Thanks for the advice on lint rollers.

  2. Connie Rose says:

    It’s a beautiful quilt, and I honor your commitment to finishing it regardless of the batting problem.

  3. annie! says:

    The paper weaving and quilt are quite spectacular. I’m not a traditional bed quilter so I use anything as batting. I also don’t do hand quilting…hardly…so it never occurred to me that it would be that much of a difference between the wool and cotton. Thanks for educating me!

  4. Sweetpea says:

    I agree with Connie, K, and admire your fortitude!
    Must say…the woven paper collage is gorgeous in its own right.
    And very nice to see you back here blogging again ;>}}

  5. Penny B says:

    Beautiful deep, rich colours….quilting cardboard that beards is no fun at all….keep at it though. Hope there’s not much more to do.

  6. Oh, grrrr! How frustrating for you! Would it have helped to have a layer of fine interfacing between the batting and the fabric?

  7. serenapotter says:

    maybe you got a crappy cotton?? i can say that i’ve encountered some cheap here but never anything that hurts to needle. makes me sad for you! just popping in to say hello. ((sitting in michael’s office i’m terrified some kids going to come in searching for help with math homework)) no math….just quilts πŸ˜‰ off to watch my rosemary and thyme and will email soon.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I can’t remember what brand it is or where I got it from, so you could well be right about that. Never again!
      Hope no-one stopped by to ask you about trigonometry or simultaneous equations πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Scraps Quilt 2 | Stitching Life

  9. Janice says:

    Oh, no… well that’s interesting to know, as I would prefer cotton for natural fibre reasons and would have selected that when I get to that stage with my quilt. Good luck with it. I do hope you can complete it. Can you assign yourself a small amount of quilting on this piece in between other more enjoyable tasks?

Comments are closed.