the spirit of perseverance

I wondered if embroidering this quilt might be easier than quilting it.

It wasn’t.

Embroidering cardboard is just as difficult as quilting it.

This entry was posted in In progress, patchwork, quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to the spirit of perseverance

  1. lyn lewis says:

    You really dont like that wadding do you eeuuuwwww
    Is it worth deconstructing maybe and remodelling ?
    who said that? was that me? (stands out of reach, in case you throw summat at me !!)

    • Karen Turner says:

      It’s a case of either finish it or bin it, I’m afraid. It’s gone too far to unpick. I think it will turn out ok eventually!

  2. lyn lewis says:

    having said that………….I really liked the embroidery!

  3. Amanda says:

    I assume you are rocking the stitches. Have you hooped it and tried stab stitching it?

  4. Thanks for sharing. I have been wondering about the embroider v quilt question too lately.

  5. You’ll have plenty of experience of difficult conditions by the time you finish it, won’t you!

  6. arlee says:

    “Embroidering cardboard is just as difficult as quilting it.”–now that’s a quote for pinning on the design board 🙂

  7. Anneliese says:

    I do like the embroidery – this makes the quilt worth twice as much.

  8. Jenny says:

    the feeling will be amazing when it is complete! (take it from a regular stitcher of cardboard!)..though your fingers may need a little time to recover :)x

  9. Penny B says:

    Love the addition of embroidery! When stitching ‘cardboard’ I always have a small pair of pliers handy. Helps prevent carpel tunnel which puts a stop to stitching when it crops up. Keep at it and please don’t ‘bin’ it!

  10. Never having quilted, I can only sympathise with what this must be like – phrases such as ‘it’s always darkest before the dawn’ are probably absolutely no help whatsoever, but good luck anyway – still looks very appealing.

  11. iHanna says:

    It will turn out awesomely, but embroidery is slow indeed. But good work out, yes? 😉

  12. Karen Ruane says:

    I have every faith in your perseverance skills….

Comments are closed.