The queen’s red dress (4)

Just a small sample, about 3” x 4”: couched threads and simple embroidery on silk.

I’m imagining it as the end of a cuff. That picot edging is something that was actually found on one of the Oseberg textiles, made by looping a thicker yarn across the edge and catching it down periodically with a couple of stitches.

I found it a bit fiddly, in terms of keeping it relatively neat and even, and had to undo and redo a couple of loops. The Viking example was smaller, finer, and much neater than my rather rough-looking effort. Thank goodness the queen isn’t real and will never have to see it 🙂

This entry was posted in Cloth books, mixed media, textile art, Viking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The queen’s red dress (4)

  1. What a wonderful fragment, conjuring up a gorgeous dress! And isn’t it inspiring to see how, if they didn’t have the edging they wanted, they just improvised!

  2. Karen, your work is inspirational! If I may, I am going to try and copy some of this beautiful work using Harris Tweed threads, onto a new red border I am making for a new multicoloured tablecloth.
    Keep it up!
    Eileen

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eileen – lovely to hear from you, and thanks for stopping by with your very kind words. I’d love to see how your red border turns out 🙂

  3. Karen Ruane says:

    beautiful, rich colours Karen. I do like that looped edge….

Comments are closed.